NASCAR lineup at Homestead: Starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The initial formation and pole for Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series race at Homestead-Miami Speedway were defined by the same procedure that determined the initial formation for the last three Cup Series races and will set the course for the next one, all of which were scheduled to run without prior practice or qualifying sessions.

The starting grid for Sunday's race at Homestead, scheduled to start at 3:30 pm. The ET, broadcast live by Fox, features a pair of Joe Gibbs Racing drivers and a pair of Team Penske drivers in the first four starting points as a result of the procedure that uses a combination of point classification and a random draw to define escalation.


MORE: Updated NASCAR Cup Series 2020 schedule

As for pit stall selection for NASCAR Cup Series races being played without qualification, it is ordered based on the final positions of the previous race in the series, followed by new entries in order of points. Thus, Martinsville winner Kevin Harvick made the first selection of pits for Sunday's race and chose first position.


Below is the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR race at Homestead and how it was defined.

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Homestead?

Achieving number one starting position in Sunday’s race at Homestead had to be a relief for Denny Hamlin, who had a rough night Wednesday in Martinsville. There is a good chance that Hamlin will choose the outside track to start the race, so that his JGR teammate Kyle Busch (starting fourth) can go after him.


Of course, that would put a pair of Penske drivers, Joey Logano (second) and Brad Keselowski (third), in the back row to start the race.

Below is the protocol for how the Cup Series field was defined in Homestead:

  • Positions 1-12: Random drawing of charter teams in these positions at the owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random drawing of charter teams in these positions at the owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random drawing of charter teams in these positions at the owner points
  • Positions 37-40: Open teams in order of the points of the owners

Initial NASCAR training at Homestead

The same protocol that set the schedule for Sunday's race at Homestead will be used to set the schedule for the next race of the Cup Series in Talladega (June 21). The next race, however, will be the first to include a practice session since NASCAR returned to live racing in May.

As for Sunday's race at Homestead, the draw for the start took place on Thursday. Below are the results:

Pos.DriverCar numberTeam
1 1Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
2Joey Logano22Team Penske
3Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
4Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
5Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
6Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
7Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
8Alex Bowman88Hendrick Motorsports
9Jimmie Johnson48.Hendrick Motorsports
10Kurt Busch1 1Chip Ganassi Racing
11Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
12Clint Bowyer14Stewart-Haas Racing
13Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
14Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
15Erik Jones20Joe Gibbs Racing
16Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
17Bubba Wallace43Richard Petty Motorsports
18John Hunter Nemechek38.Front Row Motorsports
19Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
20Matt Kenseth42.Chip Ganassi Racing
21Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
22William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
23Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
24Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
25JJ Yeley27Rick Ware Racing
26Corey LaJoie32.Go Fas Racing
27Josh Bilicki53Rick Ware Racing
28.Brennan Poole15Premium Motorsports
29Joey Gase51Petty Ware Racing
30Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
31Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
32.Ty Dillon13Germain Racing
33Ryan Preece37.JTG Daugherty Racing
34BJ McLeod77Spire Motorsports
35Cole Custer41.Stewart-Haas Racing
36.Christopher Bell95Leavine Family Racing
37.Daniel Suarez96Gaunt Brothers Racing
38.Timmy Hill66.Motorsport Business Management

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *