Leinster Rugby Academy players for 2020/21 confirmed

Leinster Rugby confirmed the Academy's roster for the 2020/21 season this morning, with seven new players joining this summer.

Niall Comerford (UCD RFC), Joe McCarthy (DUFC), John McKee (Old Belvedere RFC), Sean O & # 39; Brien (UCD RFC), Max O & # 39; Reilly (DUFC), Andrew Smith (Clontarf FC) and Alex Soroka (Clontarf FC)) are the players in question.


All seven players were nominated in the Irish team under the age of 20 for the Six Nations 2020 competition, which is currently suspended for two rounds and Ireland at the top, with three wins out of three.

Noel McNamara, manager of the Leinster Rugby Academy, said


“As in any year, we are delighted to see a group of young people move to high-profile contracts and we wish these five players good luck.

"So it's time to get excited about the next group and see how they develop over the next few seasons.


"This morning's announcement is an extremely special moment for the players and the culmination of a lot of hard work over many years. Obviously, the reality is that the hard work is just beginning, but it is important to mark this achievement and that they and their clubs, schools and families are proud of the significance of the next step.

“It is also important to highlight the role played by the coaching staff based at the Ken Wall Center of Excellence and their contribution to the development of these players.

"We look forward to continuing to support players who enter the next leg of their journey with Leinster."

With the IRFU confirming last week that the four provincial academies will return to training on July 20, McNamara reflected on the few weeks ahead, when players started looking ahead to the next season.


“Of course there will be challenges, but the facility at UCD and Energia Park, at the Ken Wall Center of Excellence, is ready to receive Academy staff and players on time and safely for the start of training.


“A great deal of credit must be given to the team behind the scenes from the point of view of operations and also from the medical and S&C side.

“Trojan's job belongs to everyone except Dave Fagan and Joe McGinley, in particular from the point of view of S&C and after Darragh Curley and Mark Kenneally, on the medical side of things. No stone has been left unturned in recent months as we move to the 20th.

"Everyone recognizes that this is a unique situation trying to end one season, before moving on to another, and everyone at Leinster Rugby is committed to doing our part to move forward successfully and I hope the positive news will continue in the coming weeks."

Leinster Rugby has already confirmed that five players have been promoted from the Leinster Academy system and will begin the 2020/21 season as part of the main squad. Today's confirmation brings the total number of players in the Academy to 18.

Leinster Rugby – Senior Contracts 2020/21:

Ryan Baird (7 capsules)
Harry Byrne (9 capsules)
Jack Dunne (7 capsules)
Tommy O & # 39; Brien (3 capsules)
Dan Sheehan (0 caps)

Leinster Rugby Academy – third year 2020/21:

David Hawkshaw
Michael Milne (8 capsules)
Aaron O & # 39; & # 39; Sullivan
Patrick Patterson (3 capsules)
Michael Silvester

Leinster Rugby Academy – second year 2020/21:

Tom Clarkson
Brian Deeny
Cormac Foley
Martin Moloney
Charlie Ryan
Liam Turner

Leinster Rugby Academy – Year One 2020/21:

Niall Comerford
Joe McCarthy
John McKee
Sean O & # 39; Brien
Max O’Reilly
Andrew Smith
Alex Soroka

Live scores now available on LoveGAA.com

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *