Jibrin loses in Kano as PDP, APC shows strength in survey replay


By Nsa Gill, Calabar; Anthony Bassey, Uyo; David Adenuga, Bauchi; Kolade Adeyemi, Kano and Chris Njoku, Owerri

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) showed strength in Saturday's repeated elections across the country.


But the chairman of the House of Representatives Appropriation Committee, Abdulmumin Jibrin, lost his attempt to return to the Chamber.

The APC candidate lost to the PDP candidate, Aliyu Yako, from the federal Kiru / Bebeji constituency in Kano state.

Yako, former Commissioner for Local Government Affairs, obtained 48,601 votes to defeat Jibrin, who obtained 13,587 votes.


Former leader of the Chamber of Deputies, Ado Alhassan Doguwa, was declared the winner of the re-election of the elections in the federal electoral district of Tudun Wada / Doguwa in Kano.

He obtained 66,667 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Air Commodore Yushua Salisu (retired), who obtained 6,400 votes.

At Imo, the APC candidate for the federal constituency north of Okigwe, made up of Isiala Mbano / Okigwe / Onuimo, Miriam Onuoha, defeated Obinna Onwubualiri in the reprise.


The returned officer, Prof. Frank Collins, from Nnamdi Azikwe University, said Onuoha got 23,690 votes, to defeat Onwubualiri from the PDP, who got 10,010 votes.

Uchenna Ubah, of the All Progressive Alliance (APGA), came in third with 263 votes.

PDP candidates won the re-election of the Sokoto North / Sokoto South and Isa / Sabon-Birni Federal constituencies in the state of Sokoto.

PDP's Alhaji Abubakar Abdullahi defeated APC holder Alhaji Bala Hassan with 68,985 votes.

Sa & # 39; idu Bargaja, of the PDP, defeated his closest opponent, Alhaji Sani Aminu-Isa, of the APC, with 44,490 against 41,048 of the federal constituency of Isa / Sabon-Birni.

APC's candidate for the federal Abi / Yakurr constituency in Cross River State, Dr. Alex Egbonna, won the rerun election held in two Ekureku wings in the Abi local government (LGA) area.

Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) Dr. Alalibo Johnson said that Egbonna scored 29,716 defeating John Gaul-Lebo of the PDP, who scored 26,036.

A petition by the PDP candidate led to a repeat of the court order.

Read too: Cross River re-run: APC wins seat in National Assembly, PDP receives state assembly

There was also a replay of some wings at the Chamber of Deputies constituency headquarters in the Abi local government area.

In the result announced by INEC for the Abi state constituency headquarters, Davies Ettah, of the PDP, scored 13, 349 to defeat APC's Inah Iwara, who obtained 8,797.

The re-execution was carried out in 33 voting units in the state, of which eight were canceled after the sequestration of materials.

The canceled area had 5606 registered voters.

The exercise was largely peaceful and registered huge voter turnout.

Former Cross River State Governor Liyel Imoke congratulated Egbonna and Etta on their victory.

Egbonna is from APC; Ettah is from the PDP.

“In the end, the elections were peaceful. Now that the elections are over and I believe that the best politicians have won, we must all sheath our swords and unite for our common good, ”he said.

Imoke said that while losers have a constitutional right to seek redress, he advised "that this matter should not be further investigated in court".

In Akwa Ibom, the PDP swept through the supplementary elections in the Senate, the Chamber of Deputies and the state assembly in Essien Udim.

The official who returned for the Akwa Ibom Northwest reprise election, Prof. Robert Dode of Uyo University announced that PDP Senator Christopher Ekpeyong won.

He said Ekpeyong got 134,717 votes, while APC Sen. Godswill Akpabio, who had previously withdrawn, got 83,820 votes.

Idara Akpabio, from Uyo University, also declared the official returning from INEC to the Chamber of Deputies, Mr. Nsikak Ekong, of the PDP, as the winner, after receiving 45,366 votes.

APC's Emmanuel Akpan scored 22,757.

In the supplementary elections of the House of State Assembly, the returning officer, Professor Victor Ebong, of Uyo University, declared That Umoh, winner of the PDP, after having obtained 18,999 votes to defeat APC's Nse Ntuen, who scored 7,108.

The review searches were ordered by the appeal court in Calabar for the Senatorial District of Akwa Ibom (Ikot Ekpene), the Essien Udim Federal Constituent Group and the Essien Udim State Constituent Group.

Akwa Ibom (ECN) resident election commissioner Mike Igini praised security agencies for their role.

He said in a statement: “The security agencies, despite the initial challenges, did a commendable job with satisfactory professionalism, particularly in the complete implementation of the model designed to guarantee the processes and clustering centers.

"This ensured that the results of the voting units were not compromised or exchanged with pre-written results to supplant the will of the people."

In Bauch, Alhaji Awal Jatau, from the PDP, and Tata Umar, from the APC, were the main candidates in the complementary research of the Zaki constituency.

Jatau obtained 782 votes; Tata got 401 votes.

The returning officer, Prof. Ahmed Kutama said that Jatau obtained 15,405 votes to defeat Tata, who interviewed 15,307.

For the re-election of the federal constituency of Gamawa, the returning official, Dr. Abubakar Mohammed, of the Federal University of Dutse, said that PDP's Madaki Gololo obtained 21,223 votes.

Isa Mohammad Wabu, of the New People's Party of Nigeria (NNPP), obtained 15,004 votes.

PDP's Madaki Gololo and 20 other candidates competed for the seat in the Gamawa constituency.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *