Instagram scam threatens to close your account unless you hand over personal details

It's one of the most popular social media apps in the world, but if you use Instagram, make sure you’re looking for a new fraud message.

Advertisement

Researchers Which one? we have notified you of a new fraud message that alleges that a copyright infringement has been detected in your account.

Worryingly, the message threatens to close your account unless you hand in personal detials.

Which one? explained: "A trusted message pretending to be from the Instagram Help Center threatens to close your account if you don’t deliver personal information.

Advertisement

"But the message is a phishing scam that you should delete and ignore."

The direct message comes from an account that claims to be Instagram and warns that one of its posts violated copyright law.

Advertisement

He says: “Hello, dear Instagram user! A copyright infringement was detected in a post in your account. If you think the copyright infringement is incorrect, please send us feedback.



The Instgram coup message

“Otherwise, your account will be closed in 24 hours. You can give feedback at the link below. Thank you for your understanding.

The message includes a link to a fake Instagram website, where users are asked to provide personal details.

Advertisement

He also signs the official Instagram address in California, giving a false impression that it is real.

Advertisement

Although the message may seem quite convincing, there are several telltale signs that it is false.

First, it comes from an account called & # 39; Instagramsupportcf & # 39 ;, which is not one of the official Instagram accounts.



The fraud message attempts to trick you into delivering personal details

It also contains several grammatical errors, which are always an important sign of a fraud message.

Finally, Instagram will never contact you about account information or issues via DM and send you an email.

Speaking of what ?, Instagram said it was investigating the account behind the fraudulent messages.

Mirror Online has been verified and the account appears to have been deleted.

If you receive the message, be sure to report it by holding down the message and touching Report.

.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *