ECB regional retainers: Up to 24 female domestic cricketers to be rewarded

National female cricket players were ready to compete in the inaugural edition of The Hundred in 2020

Up to 24 domestic cricket players will receive a regional retainer to support them financially during the coronavirus pandemic.

The contracts are based around the eight new regional centers.


The Cricket Council of England and Wales (ECB) intended to introduce 40 full-time domestic contracts in 2020, but this was postponed by the pandemic.

"Our desire for a more gender-balanced sport remains vitally important," explained the ECB's Clare Connor.

The eight regions will recruit players for the new contracts.


Players will follow strength and conditioning programs, in addition to completing the anti-corruption and anti-doping modules.

The Hundred competition, in which women competed this year, has been postponed to 2021.


"While we still intend to award these contracts full-time in 2020, we want to try to support our players as much as we can up to that point," added Connor, ECB managing director for women's cricket.

"As we emerge from this pandemic, we believe even more strongly that cricket will be a sport that will involve everyone."

The eight regional centers, their hosts and partners

Northeast – Yorkshire CCC, Durham CCC, Northumberland

northwest – Lancashire CCC, Cheshire, Cumbria


West Midlands – West Midlands Women's Cricket Ltd (Warwickshire CCC and Worcestershire CCC), Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire


East Midlands – Loughborough University, Derbyshire CCC, Leicestershire CCC, Nottinghamshire CCC, Lincolnshire

Southwest and Wales – Western Storm Ltd (Glamorgan CCC, Gloucestershire CCC and Somerset CCC), Cricket Wales, Cornwall, Devon, Wiltshire

South Central – Southern Vipers Ltd (Hampshire Cricket Ltd), Sussex CCC, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire

London and South East – Surrey CCC, Kent CCC

London & East – Middlesex CCC, Essex CCC, Northamptonshire CCC, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *