COVID-19: Club presidents vote to end the 2019/20 NPFL season

No less than seventeen club presidents from the Professional Football League of Nigeria (NPFL) voted at the end of the 2019/20 season, with the top three clubs representing Nigeria in the CAF interclub competitions next season.


According to a statement signed by the executive secretary of the Club Owners Association, Alloy Chukwuma, after the voting session showed that only Enugu Rangers International voted for the Super 6 option for the winners to emerge, as well as the three clubs to represent the club. country in next season’s continental campaign.

While Akwa United, from Uyo, and Lobi Stars, from Makurdi, abstained from voting.

However, the 17 clubs also voted in favor of promoting the lowest board, or demoting any of the NPFL clubs.


Club bosses' votes were one of the Liga Management Company's (LMC) four options on how to end the season interrupted by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The seventeen who voted for the end of the season are: Kwara United, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Jigawa Golden Stars and Adamawa United.


The others include Wikki Tourists, MFM, Sunshine Stars Enyimba, Warri Wolves and Abia Warriors.

Others are Nasarawa United, FC IfenayiUbah, Dakkada, Heartland, Rivers United and Plateau United.

Source link



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *