Bill for National Health Emergency passes first reading in Senate

The Senate on Tuesday in plenary approved the first reading, the National Health Emergency Project, 2020.

The bill was sponsored by Senator Chukwuka Utazi (PDP-Enugu) and chairman of the Senate committee on primary health and communicable diseases.


Senator Ike Ekweremadu (PDP-Enugu) shortly after reading the bill, however, raised a point of order after citing order 14 Section I of the Senate rule.

Ekweremadu, in his observation, said it was important that the details of the bill were provided to senators for an informed debate and suggestions.

He said the request for detailed information on the bill was based on protests over the submission of a similar one in the Chamber of Deputies.


Senate President Ahmad Lawan therefore asked Senate Secretary Nelson Aywoh to distribute copies of the bill to senators.

The Senate also in the plenary observed a minute's silence in honor of Nigerian health professionals for their efforts in the fight against COVID-19 Pandamic in Nigeria.


The Senate resolution was followed by a point of order 43 raised by the Senate majority leader, Senator Abudulahi Yayaha (APC-Kebbi) and supported by the Senate minority leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP-Abia).

Read too: The role of health in nation building

Lawan, in his comments, advised Nigerians to continue to strictly follow the preventive measures of COVID-19, as prescribed by the Presidential Task Force (PTF) and health experts, to prevent the spread of the pandemic.

Previously, the Senate has also forwarded confirmation of the appointments of Dr. Frederick Ekwem (Imo) and Dr. Jonah Madugu (Abia) as Commissioners of the Federal Civil Service Commission to its Establishment and Public Service Committee for further legislative contributions.

The Committee must submit a report to the plenary within four weeks.


Likewise, it forwarded confirmation of seven other nominations by President Muhammadu Buhari to nominate members of the Revenue Mobilization and Fiscal Allocation Fiscal Committee to the Establishment Committee.


The nominations are Salamatu Bala (Adamawa), Alfred Egba, (Bayelsa) Alhaji Adamu Yuguda (Borno), Emmanuel Nwosu (Imo), Oladele Gboyega (Osun), Bello Wamakko (Sokoto) and Ahmed Yusuf (Taraba).

In addition, it sent the confirmation of nominations of 38 people for nomination as President and members of the Federal Character Commission to the Federal Character Committee and reports in four weeks.

The Senate plenary adopted the ad-hoc committee's amended report on Nigeria's security challenges on the urgent need to restructure, review and reorganize the country's current security architecture


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *